A poem by Julzette Masi

Two Sides of One

I can’t forget the night we met. That girl saw me in ecstasy. But her stare, her eyes, her hair. She looked just like me. 

Silly girl. A precious jewel. You’ll decorate my shelf perfectly. Let me break your chains away and set you free. 

Then suddenly, I could see everything. Lost in the air, flying and fluttering. I had to see a different me.

Sever the ties of those closest to me. 

How could this happen, do I have no say? 

Come on, you knew it would end this way. Hurry up, it’s time to give up! You’re not happy, let’s have some fun, one on one. Honestly though, didn’t I grant your wish?

Upon what grounds are you basing this?

Well, you see, the girl you seemed to be couldn’t forget how they hurt you and let me hurt them for you. 

Is it so? Still though.

Every word I’ve ever heard dances away from my tainted grace. Am I a tool? Am I a fool? Has my future been ripped away? 

Keep replaying, you will see everything. Lost in the air, flying and fluttering. 

Maybe you’ll see, deep in the dream

You within the dark, wandering aimlessly. Who will you choose to be? Is it her or me?

I’ll take the blame for this tragedy.

That’s enough, that’s quite enough out of you.

Am I only eternally destined to smile for you? You have to follow the rules I lay.

None of them matter, you have no say.

Break away, we will both die anyway. But maybe a hate in this fashion

Could turn into a deep passion?

 

Share your thoughts!